Mirrors ¦ srorriM

Sometimes I wonder what this world would be like without mirrors.
I’d like to think that it would be a better place. A place with more acceptance, more freedom, and less self-doubts. I’d like to think that there would be less pressure to look “perfect”. More tolerance for different kinds of beauty, less teasing, and less hateful bashing.

Would it though? Would it really change things for the better? Maybe people would still get laughed at, only without being able to see that it happens without a reason. Maybe people would still destroy lives by expecting the impossible, the “flawless” according to some made-up ideals.

I look in the mirror and I see someone who doesn’t fit this concept of perfection. But who says that only who fits it can be beautiful? Who says that this “perfect” has to be what we all strive for? There might be some little things I don’t overly like about my face, but I accept them. They make me special. They are part of me. They help creating a unique person who can be loved by others, and, most importantly, by myself.

Nobody should make fun of you for your appearance, or any other reason, but if they do, look at yourself. They laughed at your nose? Your skin? Your hair? Look at it and realise that there is no reason that the way you look should be labelled any worse than some created ideal.

Make the best out of mirrors. Use them to see that you don’t look worse than others. Use them to acknowledge that you are different, and that you are your own version of perfection. Accept and like even what others make fun of, and next time someone bullies you it will hit a wall of steel. A wall created by your confidence. Created by the love you have for yourself,

I might not know you, but I know you must be beautiful in your own, unique way.
Kejruna

Feel free to share your thoughts and leave a reply!

